Quick Review: The Money Class by Suze Orman

I’ve been reading up a storm, but I haven’t had much time for reviews. I had to take the time to write a quick review on Suze Orman’s latest title Money Class.

I was looking forward to this book and even pre-ordered a hard copy from Amazon. Once it arrived, I eagerly jumped into it. I was not able to get past the first couple of chapters, however, because this book so preachy. Suze goes on and on about how these days are not the good old days. She states that people need to stop spoiling their kids, stop pining for the easy jobs and easy credit of the past, and so forth.

For me, this was useless advice. I’m not a frivolous spender, I don’t spoil my kids, and I have already accepted that I’m living in a recession (despite the recession “officially” being over).  As far as wasting money, this book was a waste. When I finish reading all of the books I have on my Kindle and finish the bar exam, and any other thing that I need to do, I will probably re-visit this book and write a full review.

For now, I find this title so boring and un-helpful that I simply cannot recommend it. If I can add one positive note, the book comes with an online subscription to the Money Class on Suze’s websites which has money resources, such as links and forms that Suze mentions in her book. Some people may find this site helpful. I logged in once and I haven’t re-visited it. It’s nothing that you can’t find on Dave Ramsey’s page for free.

If you’re a huge Suze fan, I’d say wait a while and see what others have to say about this book before purchasing it. If you are really struggling to get your finances together after taking some serious hits in the recession, then this book may help you. It’s Suze’s standard advice, only updated for the current times. If you can’t stand Suze’s advice, then this book certainly won’t convert you.

Hopefully, I’ll be posting more financial book reviews soon. As always, happy reading!

