Christian Book Review | Selling My Soul by Sherri L. Lewis

Selling My Soul by Sherri L. Lewis

Selling My Soul by Sherri L. Lewis

Lately, I’ve had the hardest time finding new Urban Christian Fiction titles because the publisher, for some reason, decided to stop putting the script across the bottom of the cover page that declared the book was an Urban Christian Fiction title. Perhaps they want to appeal to a wider audience of urban fiction readers, or maybe the authors complained. Either way, this is the main reason why I haven’t reviewed any Christian fiction in a while – I couldn’t find any!

However, I’ve read three other titles by Sherri Lewis – The List, My Soul Cries Out, and Dancing With Destiny. So, when I saw her name, I immediately grabbed the book, excited to read it. I was even more excited to see that the main character of the book is a professional, a Public Relations expert by the name of Trina Michaels.

Trina is returning home from a two-year trip to Mozambique in Africa where she was doing missionary work. Needless to say, Trina is a devout Christian who has been trying for many years to lead her mother and her sister to Jesus. While in Africa, Trina meets a wonderful man named Gabriel who is in love with her. But, like many women, Trina is not open to love and struggles to commit herself to the relationship.

To make matters even worse, Trina’s mother is very ill and her sister’s life is falling apart. Almost as soon as she gets back to the States, Trina has to get back to work in Public Relations, even though she left her heart and her passion back in Africa. She is forced to make a very tough decision about whether to represent a Bishop Walker, her former pastor, despite his possible involvement in covering up child molestation in the church. Things are further complicated by the fact that Monica, from My Soul Cries Out, is Trina’s best friend. Monica’s husband was one of the victims of molestation at the church, further complicating Trina’s decision. Trina’s faith is tested, as she tries to work out her own life as well as help salvage the lives of the people around her.

I found this book to be an awesome read. Once I had time to sit down and read through it, it only took me a few days to work through the entire book. I enjoyed reading how Gabriel expressed his love for her, and it made me think about my own attitudes towards men. Just like in The List, there were a million different mentions of natural hair. At least in this book, they fit in a lot better because the character had cut off her relaxed hair during her extended time in Africa. I really liked the way Lewis intertwined the characters from her previous book to this on in a meaningful way.

The references to Mozambique and the conditions there were eye-opening. The author made mention of starving children and disease, and often mocked American consumerism and creature comforts. That might be the only part of the book that I was uncomfortable with. I think of myself as a conscious person, but there isn’t much that I can do about the fact that I was born here in America, and that as an American, I have been very blessed.

I would also like to read more titles with characters who are not just single and struggling or married and confused about their relationships…where are the Urban Christian books about mothers and students? What about older married people who have struggles that go beyond their relationships with each other. In this book, Lewis did a good job of showing that struggles as a Christian go beyond just relationships and sex.

I’m glad to be able to recommend yet another well-written Sherri Lewis work. Selling My Soul is an intriguing book for those who are devout Christians and those who are struggling to believe. Either way, you will relate to Trina or her family and their struggles.

If you read this book or another Sherri Lewis title, please share your thoughts in the comments section. As always, thanks for reading.

http://www.sherrilewis.com/

2 thoughts on “Christian Book Review | Selling My Soul by Sherri L. Lewis

  1. T.N. Williams says:

    I realize this is an old post in relation to Urban Christian, but I still wanted to make a comment. Especially considering that my last three written novels come from the Urban Christian imprint. There are alot of good titles out and I hope you were able to get some other good reads. Check out http://www.urbanchristianonline.com or UCHisglorybookclub.net Also I would love to have you review my next novel coming out in November called Peace of Me. My website is http://www.tnwilliams.com. Blessings.

    • Debra says:

      Thanks for commenting! I’m still happily reading Urban Christian works. My reviews get slowed down because I am in law school, but I still accept submissions. I emailed you my information in regards to doing a book review and I hope to hear from you soon.

Comments are closed.