Barnes and Noble Book Reader/ 2010 Reading Goals

Barnes and Noble has a new book reader that’s relatively inexpensive, around $300. Of course, it’s sold out. Not that I had the money to buy it, anyway. 2010 is going to be a scaled back year for me financially.

In fact, I’ve decided to make a return to…guess where? The library! I’m actually going to try not to spend much money, if any, on books. I’m spending enough on required texts for my law school course. I’ve also decided to read more classics. I’m following the collegeboard’s “college bound reader” book list. Fortunately, I’ve already read more than half of the books on that list in high school and college (I was an English major), but I plan to re-read them. I really am a book work and I really should have pursued an M.A. in English instead of a J.D., but oh well!

Of course, I’ll be documenting my reading progress here. The first two books on the list are Beowulf and Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe. These are two of my absolute favorites! I should have no problem re-reading them. The language in Beowulf isn’t the easiest to decipher, but still….it’s a great story.

I also picked up Zane’s  Total Eclipse of the Heart. I don’t plan to really read it, just browse through it because I’m not crazy about Zane books. A friend of mine gave me two more books to read The Five Love Languages and His Needs, Her Needs. I’m not sure how long it’ll take me to work through these books, especially since I still have one more final exam and work next week, but I’ll try. As always, happy reading!

