Novel Review | Married Strangers by Dwan Abram

Married Strangers

Married Strangers is the first title that I’ve read by Dwan Abrams. I had high hopes for the book. I hear so many married people talking about how they feel like they no longer really know the person they are married to, as if they married a stranger. So, I was eager to jump into this book and find out what this “married strangers” business is all about.

Rayna is a newly wed who finds out that she barely knows her husband. He seems to have a jealous, possessive nature and he’s not very good in bed. On top of that, he’s white and she’s black. However, the interracial marriage theme is not prevalent in the book. It seemed strange to me that that author decided to make the man who was bad in bed white, but chose not to discuss the more material difficulties that may actually arise from an interracial marriage. I got the impression that the only reason why the author made him white was so that it would “make sense” that he was bad in bed. That part kind of threw me off.

Another character, Aja, is married to a man – this time, a black man – who is a great lover, but not great with finances and full of baby mama drama, or so it seems. Again, I was bored by the cliché – a black man who is good in bed, but not into the church, full of drama, and bad with finances. Okay…..and of course, Aja is the strong black woman who owns her own business, and is great with money. She’s had thoughts of sneaking around on her husband, which also seems strange because her husband was very loving. When they get into a heated fight and Aja ends up injured, she forgives her husband very quickly. Again, the author missed an opportunity to discuss domestic violence issues. Instead, Aja is more concerned about her husband’s baby mama than her own broken arm.

Lastly, there’s Shania. She is perfect and godly and her man is too. Shania lost her parents at a young age and her worries revolve around her baby sister. Her sister wants to drop out of college and, guess what….she’s dating a thug! You’ll have to read the book to find out more about how that turns out.

I really had high hopes for Married Strangers, but it didn’t hold my attention very well. I mainly finished reading it in order to review it for this blog. Like many other Urban Christian Fiction novels, problems were magically solved, and there were quite a few cliché moments. I really like a lot of the titles, but others could have used a lot more work before hitting the shelves. If you’re debating buying this book, I  would suggest that you try out a few other titles from this publisher first, then get back to this one when you get a chance. Maybe I’ll try Dwan Abram’s next title….

Married Strangers on Amazon.com

