Is it just me or are magazines boring?

I like to read.  Naturally, I read magazines, books, newspapers, online articles, blogs, the writing of my students, and pretty much anything else that I can get my hands on. However, I have noticed that magazines are just plain boring these days. I mean, how did magazines become pages full of advertisements with articles stuck somewhere in the middle. There are multiple page advertisements, inserts, “beauty” or “lifestyle” or “technology” sections that are full of overly-priced items that the editor’s think, or pretend to think, that you should buy even though some of the products serve the same purpose as the product advertised on the last page.

Even the articles are becoming advertisements for the people who write them. They’ll have feature writers whose product, book, or website seems to be the main focus of the article. I don’t know about anyone else, but I want to read magazines to learn something about the world or about myself, not to hear about this lame artist’s newest project or this entrepreneur’s newest venture.

Also, I’ve noticed that many magazines don’t need to be published every month. They are repeating almost the exact same information from the exact same writers every month. What a waste of paper. I wonder when we as a society are going to start demanding that this waste of paper end and that magazines go online and, in order to make money as they must, simply utilize online subscriptions or individual purchases of each issue rather than waste tons of paper each year. I have one magazine subscription- Essence magazine- and I would not mind logging in to read it online rather than having piles of magazines accumulate in my home. I wonder if anyone else feels this way……Nevertheless, I will start adding reviews on which magazines to skip, which ones to browse, and which ones to buy.

One thought on “Is it just me or are magazines boring?

  1. Bianca Reagan says:

    Also, I’ve noticed that many magazines don’t need to be published every month. They are repeating almost the exact same information from the exact same writers every month.

    Hee hee! I hope you’re not reading Cosmo. Their regressive, heteronormative, patriarchal article “how to please your man with sexy sex positions” is in every issue. One time is enough for me.

Comments are closed.