Goldilocks: Innocent Child or Naughty Girl?

Okay, I write to model for my students almost every day. If anyone needs help with writing a character analysis essay, here is a sample introduction and body paragraph that I wrote for them today.

Innocent Child or Naughty Girl?

In the classic children’s story Goldilocks and the Three Bears, the young, fair-haired main character, little Goldilocks, is characterized as a disobedient child. By taking a closer look at the story, the reader can find evidence that Goldie was just an innocent girl who did not know that she was wrong when she broke into the home of The Three Bears.

In the beginning of the story, The Three Bears carelessly leave their house unlocked when they go for a walk. Goldie, tired and hungry, stumbles upon the open home and, upon finding it empty, enters in search of something to eat and possibly a place to rest. Without thinking, Goldilocks tastes the Bears’ porridge. While Goldie was being thoughtless, she was not being malicious. She only needed to satisfy her ravenous hunger. If the Bears were truly concerned about the security of their home, they would have put their food away and locked the door upon leaving.

(Character traits not italicized and the thesis is in bold. This is just a sample, I would continue to focus the rest of the essay on my take on Goldie being an innocent child. Please remember, this was written for beginning essay writers)

If you have questions, leave me a comment and I will do my best to help. I was an English major, so I have written a ton of papers about literature.

6 thoughts on “Goldilocks: Innocent Child or Naughty Girl?

  1. Lucy says:

    I wondered if you could help…..
    What are the best tips for writing an essay about how a character changes?
    (and is this type of essay called a character development essay?)

  2. deb says:

    Sorry it took me so long to reply to this!! I’m in law school now and I haven’t been checking in/ posting regularly, but yes that would be a sort of “character development essay,” but I would actually call it a character analysis!

    You need to look at the following:
    1) What the character SAYS
    2) What the character DOES
    3) What the other characters SAY about your character

    In look at how he or she changes, you want to pull out these specific examples and analyze how they are different, say, in the beginning of the story & in the end. Is this character a “static” character or a “dynamic” character and do they remain the same throughout the story?

    If he or she does change, WHY? What specifically happened in the story to cause this character to grow? Are the changes for better or for worse?

    These are the questions that you should organize your story around! I hope this helps and that it’s not too late….

  3. Anonymous says:

    Hi there

    i was just wondering if you could maybe finish off your essay and publish it on the web. It would be a big help as I am doing a debate saying that Goldilocks wasn’t a naughty girl.

    THANK YOU!

  4. Alex Trujillo says:

    So, do we just write about what we think that the charcter is going to do and why we think that they would do it that way?

    • Debra says:

      I’m late with this reply, I apologize. But, I’m a little unsure about your question. You would read the work and analyze why they did what they did. You can use different perspectives (analyze the work from more than one point of view).

Comments are closed.